Summit for Academic Leaders

The 2017-18 Summit for Academic Leaders was on Thursday, September 14. Topics of the day included:

  • Updates on key policy changes and financial matters.
  • The strategic vision set by our president and provost.
  • Strategic visions for the schools and colleges.
  • Workshops on management and administration.
  • Key initiatives that are underway, including those related to core education and teaching evaluation.

Powerpoint decks from the day's presentations have been posted below.

 For questions, please contact

Provide Feedback

Schedule of Events

Date: Thursday, September 14, 8:30 a.m. — 4:00 p.m.
Location: Erb Memorial Union (EMU) Ballroom (campus map, building map)

8:30 a.m.


9:00 a.m.

Updates from the Office of the Provost

Jayanth Banavar, Provost and Senior Vice President

10:30 a.m.


10:45 a.m.

How can the Office of the Provost best support your unit?
Jayanth Banavar, Provost and Senior Vice President

11:35 a.m.

President's Priorities
Michael Schill, UO President

12:00 a.m.

Lunch provided

Title IX and Mandatory Reporting Policy
Darci Heroy, Title IX Coordinator

Graduate Teaching Fellows Federation
Jessica Neafie, GTFF President

Student Athletes
Tim Gleason, Faculty Athletics Representative
Lorraine Davis, Special Assistant to the Provost

United Academics
Michael Dreiling, United Academics President

1:00 p.m.


1:15 p.m.

Equity and Inclusion
Yvette Alex Assensoh, Vice President of Equity and Inclusion

University Senate
Chris Sinclair, UO Senate President

Graduate Education
Sara Hodges, Interim Dean of the Graduate School

2:15 p.m.


2:30 p.m.

Student Success Initiatives
Doneka Scott, Associate Vice Provost for Student Success
Ron Bramhall, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Excellence

Undergraduate Research and Scholarships
Josh Snodgrass, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Students

3:15 p.m.

Closing Remarks
Office of the Provost

3:30 p.m.

Supplemental Session for NEW unit/department heads
Scott Pratt, Executive Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

4:00 p.m.