2018 New Faculty Orientation

September 17, 9:15 AM - 5 PM

Knight Library, Browsing Room - 106

Register for New Faculty Orientation

Agenda subject to change




9:15 AM

Arrival and check-in

Coffee and tea available

9:30 AM


Jayanth Banavar, Provost
Michael Schill, President

 Inclusive excellence

Yvette Alex-Assensoh, Vice President for Equity and Inclusion

 Support for research, scholarship and creative workDavid Conover, Vice President for Research and Innovation


Graduate education and mentorship

Janet Woodruff-Borden, Dean of the Graduate School

10:35 AM

Concurrent Faculty Panel Discussions

Rm 101: Research
Rm 106: Scholarship and creative work

Panelists include faculty at different stages of their career across various units

11:45 AM

Lunch Provided
Union Representatives

Mike Magee, Graduate Teaching Fellows Federation President
Chris Sinclair, United Academics President

12:45 PM

Setting our students up for success

Ron Bramhall, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Excellence
Doneka Scott, Associate Vice Provost for Student Success

1:25 PM

Defining, developing and rewarding teaching excellence at UO

Sierra Dawson, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Lee Rumbarger, Assistant Vice Provost for Teaching Engagement

3:30 PM

Building our UO community

Vickie DeRose, Director, Center on Diversity and Community (CoDaC)

3:45-4:30 PM

Campus resources (rm 101)

Tabling session connecting new faculty with campus communities and resources

4 PM

Optional campus tour

Lead by UO ambassadors