IT Strategic Plan - Governance

It is essential for the University of Oregon to have a robust and formal IT governance model as (1) the list of needed and desired investments in IT will always outpace the resources available; (2) IT security, business continuity, and compliance requirements need sensible and enforceable policies; (3) the UO needs the appropriate balance between central and local IT responsibilities; and (4) every member of campus has a direct stake in the success of IT enterprises.

IT Steering Committee

The University of Oregon has established an IT Steering Committee to advise the provost on all matters relating to IT including:

  • Prioritizing the use of available resources;
  • Creating, revising, maintaining, and implementing IT policies; and
  • Overseeing campus technology working groups.

2016-17 IT Steering Committee Members

  • Jessie Minton (co-chair), vice provost for Information Services and chief information officer, Information Services, minton@uoregon.edu
  • Adriene Lim (co-chair), dean, UO Libraries, alim@uoregon.edu
  • David Conover (vice chair), vice president for research and innovation, dconover@uoregon.edu
  • Heather Brown, assistant vice president for advancement operations, University Advancement, hlbrown@uoregon.edu         
  • Helen Chu, associate dean and chief academic technology officer, UO Libraries, helenc@uoregon.edu
  • Eric Corwin, assistant professor, College of Arts and Sciences, physics, ecorwin@uoregon.edu
  • Steve Menken, associate CIO for technology infrastructure, Information Services, smenken@uoregon.edu
  • Jamie Moffitt, vice president for finance and administration and chief financial officer, jmoffitt@uoregon.edu
  • Juan-Carlos Molleda, dean, School of Journalism and Communication, jmolleda@uoregon.edu
  • Reza Rejaie, professor, College of Arts and Sciences, computer and information science, reza@uoregon.edu
  • Steve Robinson, chief of staff and assistant vice president, Student Services and Enrollment Management, sri@uoregon.edu
  • Fred Sabb, director, Lewis Center for Neuroimaging, fws@uoregon.edu
  • Hal Sadofsky, divisional dean for natural sciences, College of Arts and Sciences, and associate professor, mathematics, sadofsky@uoregon.edu
  • Kathleen Scalise, associate professor, College of Education, educational methodology, policy, and leadership, kscalise@uoregon.edu
  • Brad Shelton, senior vice provost, Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs, shelton@uoregon.edu
  • Kathie Stanley, chief of staff and associate vice president, Student Life, kstanley@uoregon.edu
  • Joe Sventek, professor and department head, College of Arts and Sciences, computer and information science, jsventek@uoregon.edu

Committee members are appointed by the provost. The committee is composed of:

  • Two co-chairs: CIO and an additional co-chair appointed by the provost from the membership listed below
  • One vice chair (to be appointed by the provost from the membership listed below)
  • Five faculty members
  • Two deans
  • One representative from UO Libraries (associate dean or higher)
  • One representative from the Office of the Provost (assistant vice president/associate vice provost or higher)
  • One representative from the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation (assistant vice president or higher)
  • One representative from University Advancement (assistant vice president or higher)
  • One representative from the Office of the Vice President for Enrollment Management (assistant vice president or higher)
  • One representative from the Office of the Vice President for Student Life (assistant vice president or higher)
  • One representative from the Office of the Vice President for Finance and Administration (assistant vice president or higher)
  • Two members at large (as desired)

IT Directors Committee

In addition to the larger IT Steering Committee, the existing IT Directors Advisory Group is being transformed into the IT Directors Committee. This committee advises the CIO on IT operations and needs including:

  • Coordinating activities to improve efficiency and avoid duplication;
  • The strategic fit and feasibility of a Steering Committee recommendation
  • Sharing best practices;
  • Collaborating on innovative ideas; and
  • Leveraging the use of local and central resources and infrastructure.

The IT Directors Committee is composed of the IT directors from each of the schools, colleges, and administrative units. The committee also utilizes an Executive Committee with the following representation: academic unit (2), library (1), research (1), and Information Services (1).

2016-17 IT Directors Committee Members


To inform the IT Steering Committee, three additional advisory groups will be created to advise on academic, research, and administrative technology. The group charters and membership are under development.


    Documents

    IT Steering Committee Charter [PDF]

    IT Directors Committee Charter [PDF]